Bangladesh travel

UAE Travel: Bans, Flight Suspensions & New Covid Safety Rules You Need To Know – News


Authorities are doing all they can to keep Emiratis and expatriates safe

Photo file

Posted: Sun Jan 2, 2022, 1:45 PM

Last update: Mon Jan 3, 2022, 7:57 AM

As cases of Covid-19 around the world increase with detection of the Omicron variant, authorities in the United Arab Emirates are doing everything possible to ensure the safety of Emiratis and expatriates. Federal and local authorities have announced a series of new Covid safety rules that include flight suspensions, some travel bans and new Covid safety rules.

Here’s all you need to know:

  • Travel ban for unvaccinated Emiratis

From January 10, Emiratis who are not vaccinated against Covid-19, although they are eligible for the vaccine, will not be allowed to travel. The move will protect the citizens of the United Arab Emirates amid “the global epidemiological situation and the current high rate of infections,” according to a joint statement issued by the United Arab Emirates Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation (MoFAIC) and the National Crisis and Disaster Management Authority (NCEMA). ).


Fully vaccinated Emiratis should receive a booster dose of the vaccine when eligible. Unvaccinated citizens will only be allowed to travel if they are medically exempt from being vaccinated. Humanitarian cases and people traveling for medical and treatment purposes will also be allowed.

According to the latest update posted on the Emirates Airline website, passengers “from the following destinations will not be accepted for travel to or via Dubai on or after December 28, 2021, until further notice:

• Republic of Angola (LAD)

• Republic of Guinea (CKY)

• Republic of Kenya (NBO)

• United Republic of Tanzania (DAR)

• Republic of Uganda (EBB)

• Republic of Ghana (ACC)

• Republic of Côte d’Ivoire (ABJ)

• Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (ADD)

• Zambia (LUN)

• Zimbabwe (EDH). ”

  • Random PCR tests at DXB

Dubai International Airport is performing random Covid-19 PCR tests on passengers arriving on certain flights.

Residents of certain countries traveling to Dubai need GDRFA or ICA approval when traveling from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Sudan. “This does not apply to passengers who have other visas, such as newly issued residence or employment visas, short-stay or long-stay visa, holders of a 10-year Golden UAE visa , investor or partner visa, visit visa or visa on arrival, ”Emirates airline states on its website.

In addition to a negative PCR result performed within 48 hours of travel, passengers from these countries must undergo a rapid PCR test at the departure airport within six hours of flight.

  • PCR test on arrival at DXB

According to Emirates, passengers arriving in Dubai from the following countries will need to take another Covid-19 PCR test upon arrival: Afghanistan, Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, Democratic Republic of the Congo , Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, India, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jordan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Romania, Rwanda, Russia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Somaliland, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe.