Bangladesh travel

Covid-19: Bulgaria adds 14 European countries to red list of travel restrictions


Bulgarian Acting Minister of Health Stoicho Katsarov issued an order, late on November 19, amending the list of foreign countries classified respectively in red, orange or green zones depending on their Covid-19 situation. The changes will take effect on November 23.

In the last order, 14 European countries were added to the list of red zone countries and territories – Germany, Austria, Netherlands, Ireland, Czech Republic, Belgium, Hungary, Denmark, Iceland, Greece, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Poland and Switzerland.

Afghanistan and North Korea were not mentioned in the statement but were also on the order’s red list.

Four countries were reclassified from the green zone to the orange zone: Finland, France, Monaco and Portugal. Moldova moved from the red list to the orange list.

The Bulgarian Ministry of Health’s current criteria for classifying a country as a red, orange or green Covid-19 zone can be found in English here (the list of countries of this old order is now obsolete). These classifications determine the rules for entering Bulgaria.

The same decree establishes a list of countries whose certificates of vaccination, screening and Covid-19 disease are considered equivalent to the EU’s Covid digital certificate.

The list includes North Macedonia, San Marino, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, Vatican City State (only with regard to vaccination certificates issued), Andorra, Faroe Islands, Monaco , Panama, Morocco, Israel, Armenia and the United Kingdom.

Katsarov’s order of November 19 also allows people entering the country on condition that they are quarantined to have the quarantine lifted if they have a negative antigen or PCR test by the end of the following day. . Previously, the quarantine could only be lifted if they had a negative PCR test within 24 hours of entering Bulgaria.

The full list of green zone countries is Vatican City State, Luxembourg, Italy, Spain, Malta and Sweden.

Countries listed as neither red zones nor green zones are considered orange zones.

The red zone countries are Bangladesh, Myanmar (Burma), Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Maldives, South Africa, Botswana, Tanzania, Seychelles, Namibia, Zambia, Oman, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Afghanistan, Mongolia, North Korea, Chile, Uruguay, Brazil, Paraguay, Bolivia, Suriname, Panama, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador, Cuba, Republic Dominican, Fiji, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Grenada, Barbados, Singapore, Brunei, United Kingdom, Georgia, Armenia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia, Montenegro, Romania, Ukraine, Austria, Netherlands, Ireland, Czech Republic, Belgium, Hungary, Denmark, Iceland, Greece, Germany, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Poland and Switzerland.

(Sofia Airport. Photo: Apostoloff)

For the rest of the Sofia Globe’s ongoing coverage of the Covid-19 situation in Bulgaria, please click here.

Sofia Globe’s coverage of the Covid-19 situation in Bulgaria is supported by the embassies of Switzerland and Finland.

Please support independent journalism by clicking the orange button below. For as little as three euros per month or the equivalent in other currencies, you can support The Sofia Globe through and access exclusive subscriber content:

Become a patron!